Childhood now and then

Sometimes I can’t help but compare my childhood with that of my daughter.

Some key differences
1. Siblings
When I was a kid, I had my sister around to share everything with. Right from toys,  goodies to secrets about life!! Growing up with a sibling was wonderful, we were always around for each other and my parents never had to worry about keeping us entertained specially when we went out for trips/holidays.
Most kids nowadays  (including my daughter ) are single children.  That not only makes them selfish to some extent,  but it also makes them lonely. Plus I constantly need to think of innovative ways of keeping my daughter engaged, which I don’t think was an issue for my parents.

2. Stay at home moms
My mum was a stay at home mum throughout our childhood. The sole purpose of her live was to feed us and raise us well. While I’m a stay-at-home mum to my kid now, I’ve worked for 12 years in the software industry prior to quitting my career.  So it’s really hard for me to focus on only raising my child for simultaneously I feel the need to do something else and sometimes I feel that limits my capabilities as a mum, I  cannot be as selfless a mum like my mum.

3. Tech savvy
Kids nowadays are tech savvy. Agreed that in our days there was no google,  laptops, video games, tabs, i pads. Kids have much more exposure to electronic devices now than we had which is good in a way but again it is leaving them lonely. Plus nothing can replace good old outdoor play.

4. Safety
When we were kids,  safety was not as much an issue as it is nowadays. In fact it wouldn’t be an exaggeration if I said it wasn’t an issue at all. Crime rate was low. Schools did not have to employ  elaborate security measures. I remember there were no rules about pick up and just about anybody could pick us up. When I compare that with the explicit safety measures my daughter’s school employs I can’t help but be amazed by the huge difference. There’s 2 ID cards, gps tracking and what not. Nobody is allowed to pick her up from school without procuring the ID card. But the bottom line is despite all these security measures are our kids safe?  Our parents didn’t constantly have to worry about our safety.  In spite of all these so called safety precautions we as parents have to be on our guard and watch our backs at all times.

2 thoughts on “Childhood now and then

Leave a Reply

